## COUNCIL

Monday, 11 July 2022

Present:	The Civic Mayor (Councillor Jeff Green) in the Chair Deputy Civic Mayor (Councillor Jerry Williams)		
Councillors	T Anderson S Bennett M Booth A Brame D Burgess-Joyce H Cameron I Camphor C Carubia M Collins H Collinson C Cooke T Cox A Davies C Davies G Davies T Elzeiny L Fraser	S Foulkes A Gardner P Gilchrist H Gorman N Graham EA Grey J Grier A Hodson K Hodson J Hoey J Johnson C Jones M Jordan S Kelly B Kenny D Kenny I Lewis	P Martin D Mitchell S Mountney Y Nolan C O'Hagan O Osanlou S Percy C Povall S Powell-Wilde L Rennie T Smith P Stuart Jason Walsh S Williams V Wilson G Wood A Wright
<u>Apologies</u>	Councillors J Bi	rd leary	T Jones J McManus

P Cleary P Connolly E Gleaves K Greaney P Hayes T Jones J McManus A Onwuemene J Robinson Joe Walsh J Williamson

## 15 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

The Members of the Council were invited to consider whether they had any disclosable pecuniary and/or any other relevant interest in connection with any matters to be determined at this meeting and, if so, to declare it and state the nature of such interest.

No such declarations were made.

## 16 CIVIC MAYOR'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Civic Mayor announced that apologies had been received from Councillors Jo Bird, Pat Cleary, Paul Connolly, Emily Gleaves, Karl Greaney, Paul Hayes, Tony Jones, Julie McManus, Amanda Onwuemene, Jean Robinson, Joe Walsh, Janette Williamson.

## 17 CONFERMENT OF THE TITLE OF HONORARY ALDERMAN

The Council considered the recommendations from the Regulatory and General Purposes Committee held on 23 March 2022 (minute 25 refers) in relation to the conferment of the title of Honorary Alderwoman on former Councillor Pat Hackett, in accordance with Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972.

The report informed that Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 provided that the title of Honorary Alderman or Honorary Alderwoman might be conferred by the Council on persons who were persons of distinction and/or who had, in its opinion, rendered eminent service to the place or area. The title was to be conferred by a resolution passed by not less than two thirds of the Members voting on it at a meeting of the Council specially convened for the purpose.

It was moved by Councillor Chris Jones and seconded by Councillor Andrew Hodson that the Council be recommended to confer the title of Honorary Alderman on former Councillor Pat Hackett in accordance with Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972.

Following speeches from a number of Members who all expressed their own fond memories of working with former Councillor Pat Hackett and his commitment to the regeneration of New Brighton, the motion was put, and it was –

Resolved (unanimously) - That the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred on former Councillor Pat Hackett in accordance with Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972.